Newspaper for Crossmaglen, South Armagh, Newry and Down.

All-Stars for Armagh and Down Hurlers

Armagh and Down hurlers were honored with selection at the Champion 15s Awards presented at the PwC GAA/GPA Allstars banquet in Dublin.

In the Christy Ring Champion 15 Down duo of Eoghan Sands and Michael Hughes were honoured. A trio of Armagh players Artie McGuinness, Nathan Curry and John Corvan were part of 13 Ulster hurlers selected on the Nicky Rackard Champion 15.

Meanwhile down under Ireland manager Joe Kernan will have to weave some managerial magic if he is to end his management career on a winning note as Australia hold a 10 point lead going into the second test in Perth next Saturday. Ireland led the opening quarter 15-14 but were 28-27 in front at half-time. The hosts dominated the third quarter to lead 50-35 and midway through the last quarter it was 61-47 but inspired by their best performer Conor McManus managed to cut the deficit to 53-53 as the hooter sounded full time.

All though Ireland face a demanding assignment in the second test theY0 showed enough in defeat to be able to turn things around in Perth.

IRELAND: Niall Morgan (Tyrone), Chris Barrett (Mayo), Killian Clarke (Cavan), Eoin Cadogan (Cork), Peter Crowley (Kerry), Pearce Hanley (Mayo/Gold Coast), Brendan Harrison (Mayo), Kevin Feely (Kildare), Karl O’Connell (Monaghan), Paul Murphy (Kerry), Aidan O’Shea (Mayo), Zach Tuohy Laois/Geelong) Gary Brennan (Clare), Niall Grimley (Armagh), Sean Powter (Cork), Niall Sludden (Tyrone), Conor Sweeney (Tipperary), Shane Walsh (Galway), Conor McManus (Monaghan), Michael Murphy (Donegal)

Scorers for Ireland: Conor McManus 25 (0-7-4), Michael Murphy 20 (1-4-2), Conor Sweeney and Paul Geaney 3 each (0-1-0), Niall Sludden and Shane Walsh 1 each (0-0-1).

AUSTRALIA: Brendon Goddard, Zach Merrett (Essendon), Eddie Betts, Rory Laird, Rory Sloane (Adelaide), Dayne Zorko (Brisbane), Kade Simpson (Carlton), Nat Fyfe (Fremantle), Patrick Dangerfield, Joel Selwood (Geelong), Shaun Burgoyne, Jack Gunston (Hawthorn), Michael Hibberd, Neville Jetta (Melbourne), Robbie Tarrant, Ben Brown (N. Melbourne), Travis Boak, Paddy Ryder, Chad Wingard (Port Adelaide), Luke Shuey (West Coast).

Scorers for Australia: Nat Fyfe 16 (1-3-1, Chad Wingard 8 (0-2-2), Luke Shuey (1-0-0), Ben Brown (0-2-0) and Dayne Zorko (0-2-0) 6 each, Eddie Betts 5 (0-1-2), Patrick Dangerfield, Kade Simpson, and Paddy Ryder (0-1-0) 3 each, Rory Sloane and Zach Merrett (0-0-2) 2 each, Michael Hibberd, Travis Boak, and Jack Gunston (0-0-1) 1 each.