Low Key Convention

December 8, 2014

The magnificent strides forward made in 2014 by the outgoing officers of the Armagh County Board left the Annual Convention at Madden a low key affair. Outgoing Chairman Paul Duggan defeated Padraig Og Nugent in a straight fight for the position of Secretary which was vacated by Fr Rory Coyle who will take over the role as Assistant Secretary. Middletown man Paul McArdle is the new chairman taking over from Duggan whose term of office had expired.

The turnaround in the counties financial fortunes was a big feature of the convention with the outstanding work done by the treasurer rightly acclaimed. The need for the much “griped about” championship admission prices was quickly put on the back burner with the increases adopted as a necessity going forward. The adoption of the Whitecross proposal, that teams who have already met in the championship could not do so again until the quarter final stages, will be welcomed by clubs.

So it’s all systems go for 2015 with the following officers leading the way forward for the Orchard County

Chairman-Paul McArdle

Vice-Chairman- Brian Smyth

Secretary-Paul Duggan

Assistant-Secretary- Fr. Rory Coyle

Treasurer- Gerry Boyle

Assistant Treasurer-Peter Murray

Development Officer –Pauric Haughey

Irish Officer-Raymond Kieran

PRO-Sean McStay

Hurling Officer-Liam Ross.

Ulster Council Representatives-Fr Rory Coyle and Michael Geoghean

Ulster Council-Fr Rory Coyle, Michael Geoghean, Peter Murray, Seamus McDonagh, Paul Donaghy

Annual Convention-Sean Reavey, Michael Geoghan, Fr. Rory Coyle

Ard Comhairle-Eddie Hughes