Armagh Football Championship Reviews

August 22, 2016


Crossmaglen Rangers 2-13 Dromintee 1-10

On a dark evening for football Crossmaglen eased their way into the winning section with a 2-13 to 1-10 win over a very game young Dromintee outfit that asked plenty of questions of the champions.

Seanie McConville’s goal, helped Rangers into a 1-8 to 0-6 interval lead. Minutes into the second half, Christopher Lynch’s goal for Dromintee breath life into the contest. Rangers though regathered themselves and the second goal from Stephen Morris, put them back into control on proceedings. Cross will be happy to advance while Dromintee can take the positives from a good display in testing conditions.

Maghery 1-15 Annaghmore 0-9

A wind spoiled encounter, that was over as a contest by the interval, as favourites Maghery held a 1-7 to 0-1 lead. Annaghmore trailed to 3 Aidan Forker points before Michael McNeice grabbed their only score of the opening half. Maghery responded to their opponents score with 2 Conor Mackle points, and one each for Aidan and Niall Forker, but in between those flurry of points came the half’s most crucial score, a green flag raised by team captain James Lavery following a good interchange with Aidan Forker. Oisin MacIomhair grabbed 3 points for Annaghmore in the opening 10 minutes of the second half but those scores were cancelled out by a Mackle brace and one from Stefan Cusack to leave it 1-10 to 0-4. Points from Ronan Lappin, Aidan Forker (2) and Cusack extended the lead to 13 but credit to the losers who never gave up and fired over the next 5 points of the game as Conor Cullen (2), Michael McConville, Ciaran and Oisin MacIomhair added to the scoreboard that read 1-15 to 0-9 at the long whistle as the man who opened the scoring, Aidan Forker closed it with his seventh point of the game.

Forkhill 1-16 – Sarsfields 3-11

Once again the concession of goals to Sarsfields in the Championship proved fatal for Forkhill for the second year in succession.

Sarsfields scored two quick fire goals inside 3 minutes but Forkhill’s responded with a major score of their own as Ciaran Smith netted. At the short whistle the High Moss boys led 2-7 to 1-6.

Forkhill clawed back two points when a high punt wound up in the Forkhill net a killer third goal. Still Forkhill fought on and at the death Stephen Sheridan levelled matters but O’Dornan’s were denied by an injury time winning point for Sarsfields.


Mullaghbawn 1-11 Shane O’Neill’s

Mullaghbawn finished strongly with team captain Kieran Grant netting a crucial penalty with six minutes remaining following a foul on Rory Muckian. The goal give Mullaghbawn a 1-9 to 0-10 lead and the goal scorer followed up with the next points from play to put the game beyond Shane’s who battle hard.

Mullaghbawn lead 5-2 in the opening half courtesy of 4 Eddie English points and one from minor star Eoghan McDonnell to two replies for Paul O’Rourke. Shane’s rattled off 3 points in a row Kristan Magill, Sean McLoughlin, Mark McCabe to level before another minor star Shea Loye regained the lead, only for Magil to leave it level at the short whistle at six points a piece.

Three Sean McLoughlin pointed frees and one from play from O’Rourke had the Shane’s ahead 10-7 some twelve minutes into the second half, with English opening his second half account. Mullaghbawn were starting to put it together with another minor star Fergal Mackin leading the charge as English and Loye points had it down to the minimum 10-9 before the crucial goal arrived. McLoughlin and English traded points after the penalty.


Lissummon 1-10 St Michael’s 0-4

This was a poor game, especially in the opening half which sprang to life inside the last 2 minutes which saw the eventual winners Lissummon put a gloss on the half-time score as they added 1-2 to their 3-1 lead to go to the dressing rooms with a rather flattering 7-point lead. It was the game’s top scorer Darragh Noonan who added the crucial 3 pointer just before the break that helped him finish with 1-5 to his credit. Lissummon, who have lost their early season sparkle easily contained a St Michael’s outfit who have fallen on lean times in a low scoring second half 0-5 to 0-3 to book their place as winners in round two. Scorers- Lissummon- Darragh Noone (1-5),Paudie Rogers (0-2), Stevie Matthews (0-2), William McGill (0-1) St Michael’s