Whitecross are County Intermediate Champions

October 10, 2016


Whitecross 2-14 Tullysaran 1-14

Whitecross, managed by Noel Marron, John Shields and Seamus McParland and captained by Dermot Boyle were celebrating after the disappointment of 12 months ago following their 2-14 to 1-14 victory over Tullysaran in a classic Donnelly Group Armagh Intermediate Club Championship.

In what was literally a game of two halves with last year’s Junior Champions Tullysaran finding their feet in the second half to draw level after being behind 2-7 to 0-7 at the short whistle. The goals from the games top scorer Conor Malone (1-7) and Ciaran McNulty gave the more experienced Whitecross control. But throwing caution to the win playing a brand of football that has been most admirable the underdogs bit back in style.  Ciaran Mullen’s 44th minute goal along with some wonderful points from Ryan Conlon had Tullysaran back level 2-09 to 1-12 some 15 minutes into the second half and firmly in control of things. Unfortunatley Tullysaran were unable to notch that lead score as their vastly experienced opponents never wilted and with Malone tacking on the vital points as they regained their composure to outscore their opponents 0-5 to 0-2 in the last quarter. Before Whitecross could take home the Atty Hearty Cup goalkeeper Thomas Canning denied Tullysaran’s Edward Mallon a possible match winning goal with a super save. Cathal McSherry a leading light all year popped over the last score of the game

Whitecross: T Canning, M Malone, D Lennon, D Shields, M Shields, N Og Boyle, N McSherry, B Shields, A McCann, R McSherry, B McKeown, M McGrory (0-4, 0-1f), K McNulty (1-1) , C McSherry (0-2, 0-1f), C Malone (1-7).

Subs: D Boyle (c) for McGrory, F Gorman for M Malone, C Vallely for N McSherry, P McGuinness for B Shields.

Tullysaran: S Black, Jody Collins, A Conlon, R Conlon (0-3), B Kelly, D Doyle, E Mallon (0-1), C O’Riordan (0-1), J McKeown, K Corrigan (0-4, 0-3f), Roghan Daly, Ciaran Mullen (1-2), M Kernan (0-2), K Hannaway, G Conlon (0-1).

Subs: M Mallon for K Corrigan

Referee: K Faloon.