Bank of Ireland Dr McKenna Cup

December 4, 2017

With continued sponsorship until 2020 from Bank of Ireland secured, the Ulster Council proceeded with the draw for the 2018 competition at the Balmoral Hotel, Belfast. There will be a Jan 3 start for the McKenna Cup with Jan 20/21 a week before the start of the National Football Leagues, down as the date for the final.

As is the norm the 12 participating teams the 9 counties along with college sides St Mary’s, UUJ and Queen’s University were drawn into 3 Groups of 4 with the winner of each group and the best overall group runner-up qualifying for the semi-finals on Sunday, January 14th.

All eyes on the draw were on holders Tyrone who have won the last 6 titles on the trot and they were drawn in Section A along with Cavan, Antrim and Sigerson Cup holders St Mary’s.

Section B will see the students of the University of Ulster, Jordanstown tackle, Derry, Down and Armagh.

Section C has pitted new Fermanagh manager Rory Gallagher up against his former team Donegal with Monaghan and Queen’s University completing the group.

Fixtures and dates will be finalized this week following a meeting of the Ulster Council.