Search begins for county Armagh pub of the year 2010

August 17, 2010

The search is on to find the best pubs throughout Northern Ireland with the launch of the Pub of the Year Awards 2010.

Pubs of Ulster, formerly known as the Federation of the Retail Licensed Trade, is calling on publicans to demonstrate the very best that the local pub trade has to offer in a bid to become the Pub of the Year 2010. This years competition also sees the introduction of a range of regional finals, including a specific Co. Armagh event, which will take place in advance of the finale in Belfast City Hall on 3rd November.

Commenting on the launch of the Pub of the Year Awards 2010, Colin Neill, Chief Executive of Pubs of Ulster, said:

“The local pub trade has an increasingly important role in the hospitality, leisure and tourism sector and holds a distinctive regional offer within the world famous Irish pub experience. This must be recognised and celebrated and the Pub of the Year Awards are about showcasing the best in the industry and rewarding those businesses that are setting the standards in customer service, innovation and investment.  This year there is a category for everyone and an increased opportunity for the achievements of pubs in all regions to be recognised and I would encourage all publicans to enter, whether their premises are large or small, urban or rural, trend-setting or traditional.”

The seven 2010 award categories are: Best Neighbourhood Pub; Best Food Pub; Best Family Friendly Pub; Best Employee/Team; Best New or Improved Pub; Most Innovative Pub; Best Tourism/Visitor Pub. Readers of this year’s media partner, the Sunday Life, will also choose their favourite pub and the Pubs of Ulster Chairman’s Award will be presented by the current Chair, Sorcha Wolsey, to an individual who made a major contribution to the development and enhancement of the local licensed trade sector.

As the only competition to focus solely on the pub trade, this year’s awards are sponsored by the Northern Ireland Tourist Board and all of the major drinks companies: Britvic, Diageo, Dillon Bass, Coca Cola, Molson Coors and Tennent’s NI.

All premises entered for the awards will be visited by mystery shoppers to assess their standard in terms of facilities, service, cleanliness and atmosphere.  An independent judging panel comprising of Martin Breen, Editor of the Sunday Life; Gary McDonald, Business Editor of the Irish News; Adrienne McGill, Business Editor of the News Letter; Symon Ross, Business Correspondent for the Belfast Telegraph; and Robert Cully from the Northern Ireland Tourist Board, will decide on the overall winners.