International Rules – Steven McDonnell to Captain Ireland

October 19, 2010

Ireland manager Anthony Tohill has announced that Killeavy and Armagh star Steven McDonnell, playing in his fifth series, will Captain the squad for the upcoming two tests against Australia in the 2010 International Rules Series.

The Gaelic Grounds, Limerick will host the first test on Sat Oct 23 at 7pm with the second test a week later Oct 30 in Croke Park at 7 pm

Steven, who has expressed his honour at being named Ireland captain will be joined by fellow Armagh county players Ciaran McKeever and Brendan Donaghy as the Orchard County top the representation of home players selected. Down have Martin Clarke and Kevin McKernan on the panel with the injured Benny Coulter named on the reserve squad.

Steve said “It’s really a very proud moment for me. I’ve played on many good teams that had great captains before. I’ve learnt a lot from those guys and hopefully I can carry that onto the field and we can be victorious this year, and I can lead by example.”

The squad, which is made up of 22 players plus seven on standby, contains five players who have experience of playing Australian Rules football – Tadhg Kennelly, Michael Shields, Brendan Murphy, Tommy Walsh and Colm Begley.

Anthony and his selectors, Eoin ‘Bomber’ Liston, Kevin O’Brien and Seán Óg de Paor stated that the level of commitment has been excellent and everyone will give their utmost to retain the Cormac McAnallen Cup.

The Ireland IRS squad is: Steven McDonnell (Armagh, captain), Finian Hanley (Galway, vice-captain), Colm Begley (Laois), Bernard Brogan (Dublin), Graham Canty (Cork), Seán Cavanagh (Tyrone), Martin Clarke (Down), Stephen Cluxton (Dublin), Brendan Donaghy (Armagh), Leighton Glynn (Wicklow), Daniel Goulding (Cork), James Kavanagh (Kildare), Paddy Keenan (Louth), Tadhg Kennelly (Kerry), Seán McDermott (Roscommon), Ciarán McKeever (Armagh), Kevin McKernan (Down), Brendan Murphy (Carlow), Michael Murphy (Donegal), Kevin Reilly (Meath), Michael Shields (Cork), Tommy Walsh (Kerry)

Standby Players: Emmet Bolton (Kildare), Gary Brennan (Clare), Gary Connaughton (Westmeath), Benny Coulter (Down), Eamonn Fennell (Dublin), Johnny McCarthy (Limerick), Niall McNamee (Offaly)