SDLP’s Donnelly tops the poll in Council’s Slieve Gullion ward

May 17, 2011

The election to Newry and Mourne District Council threw up a few surprises and some high profile changes to the make-up of its 30 seats.

Sinn Fein continues to be the dominant party on the Council, securing a total of 14 seats, with the SDLP winning 9 seats, the UUP 3, one for the DUP and three Independent candidates being elected.

There was no change in the Slieve Gullion ward with all five former representatives successfully returned.  The SDLP’s Geraldine Donnelly topped the poll here, securing 1,681 votes – the highest number of first preference votes for an individual candidate in the ward.   The party’s sole representative for Slieve Gullion, she was joined by returning Sinn Fein Councillors Terry Hearty, Colman Burns, Anthony Flynn and Packie McDonald who polled 1,320, 1.312, 1,165 and 1,166 votes respectively.

Sinn Fein’s Charlie Casey topped the poll in Newry Town with 1,280 first preference votes.  He was closely followed by Davy Hyland, who fared particularly well as an Independent, polling 1,007 votes to guarantee his seat.

Newry Town results witnessed some significant changes as the SDLP’s group leader on the Council, Gary Stokes, and Sinn Fein’s Marion O’Reilly failed to secure re-election.

Former Deputy Mayor Karen McKevitt, having stood down to seek election to the Assembly, paved the way for new face Connaire McGreevey to be successfully elected for the SDLP in her place in the Crotlieve ward.

New Councillors elected to serve on the Council for the 2011-2015 term are: Sean Doran, Valerie Harte and Peter Kearney (Sinn Fein), Connaire McGreevy and Declan McAteer (SDLP), David Tayor and Harold McKee (UUP), along with former Sinn Fein Councillor, Davy Hyland, now sitting as an Independent.

The thirty Councillors are: Pat McGinn, Turlough Murphy, Sean Doran, Mick Murphy, Anthony Flynn, Packie McDonald, Mickey Ruane, Charlie Casey, Peter Kearney, Valerie Harte, Brendan Curran, Colman Burns, Terry Hearty, Jimmy McCreesh (Sinn Fein); John Feehan, Michael Carr, Declan McAteer, Sean O’Hare, John McArdle, Frank Feely, Connaire McGreevy, Geraldine Donnelly, Sean Rodgers (SDLP) Andy Moffett, Harold McKee, David Taylor (UUP); James William Burns (DUP); Davy Hyland, Jack Patterson, Henry Reilly (Other).