Club Senior Football Championship semi-finals for Portlaoise and Longford

December 31, 2011

The times and venues for the AIB All-Ireland club SFC semi-finals have been announced, with Portlaoise and Longford hosting the senior games on Saturday 18 February.

Reigning champions Crossmaglen Rangers will put their title on the line against Dr Crokes in Portlaoise while Pearse Park in Longford hosts the novel meeting of near neighbours St Brigid’s and Garrycastle.

Rangers Saturday outing is a relief to Ulster manager Joe Kernan whose Provincial side take on Connacht on Sunday thus avoiding a clash of interests with both games having been originally fixed for the same day.

The junior and intermediate club semi-finals are on Sunday 22 January.

AIB GAA Football All-Ireland Senior Club Championship semi-finals

Saturday 18 February

Dr Crokes (Kerry) v Crossmaglen Rangers (Armagh), Portlaoise, 2.00pm

St Brigid’s (Roscommon) v Garycastle (Westmeath), Pearse Park, 2.00pm

AIB GAA Football All-Ireland Intermediate Club Championship semi-finals

Sunday 22 January

Davitt’s (Mayo) v Eire Og (Wicklow), Tullamore, 2.00pm

Milltown – Castlemaine (Kerry) v Craigbane (Derry), Portlaoise, 3.30pm

AIB GAA Football All-Ireland Junior Club Championship semi-finals

Sunday 22 January

Naomh Pádraig (Galway) v Ballivor (Meath), Pearse Park, 2.00pm

Dromid Pearses (Kerry) v Derrytresk (Tyrone) , Portlaoise, 2.00pm

BT MacRory Cup quarterfinal draws

The draws have been made for the BT MacRory Cup quarterfinals.

“We can look forward to some superb matches in the coming months – these teams are at the top of their game and BT is proud to support GAA and be associated with the Ulster Colleges’ Cups,” said Peter Morris, Consumer Director.

“Over the past year we have worked hard to encourage sporting excellence through the launch of the ‘BT Genius Bursary’, where each year five players are awarded an educational bursary based on personal demonstration of inspiration and positive attitude. BT has also used its expertise and innovation to refurbish the Ulster Colleges website.”

Seamus Meehan, Chairman of the Ulster Colleges’ Council, said: “Now in its 89th year, the MacRory Cup continues to produce games of outstanding quality, endeavor, and sportsmanship which generate and attract enormous interest in, and far beyond, our affiliated schools. The same levels of excellence also pertain in the MacLarnon Cup, our premier ‘B’ competition, which is now in its 52nd year.

“BT has been a hugely supportive partner of Ulster Colleges since 2001, and that support has boosted our expansion and increased profile in the interim. BT has further demonstrated its commitment to sporting excellence through the ‘BT Genius Bursary’ which is awarded to 5 of our students annually as they progress to 3rd Level education, and via our refurbished”

BT MacRory Cup quarterfinals

First weekend of February :

St Patrick’s, Dungannon v St Patrick’s, Armagh

St Patrick’s, Maghera v Abbey CBS

Second weekend of February:

St Michael’s, Enniskillen v Omagh CBS

St Colman’s, Newry v St Mary’s Belfast.

BT MacLarnon Cup Quarter Finals

Weekend of 11th February:

St Columb’s, Derry v St Patrick’s, Cavan

Holy Cross College, Strabane v St Patrick’s, Downpatrick

St Paul’s, Bessbrook v Patrician High, Carrickmacross

Our Lady’s, Castleblayney v St Louis Ballymena

BT O’Doherty Cup

Preliminary Rounds weekend of 11th February:

La Salle, Belfast v St Malachy’s, Belfast (A)

Our Lady’s & St Patrick’s, Knock v CC Ballyshannon (B)

Quarter Finals weekend of 18th February

Winners of A v St Eunan’s, Letterkenny

Winners of B v St Michael’s, Lurgan

St Patrick’s High, Keady v St Louis, Kilkeel

St Pius X, Magherafelt v Rathmore Belfast

Ulster Colleges Football All-Stars announced

Fourteen schools are represented on the 2011 Ulster Colleges Football All-Star team which was announced yesterday.

It is the first time in 25 years of the scheme that there has been such a wide spread of players from schools throughout the province. The only school with two players honoured is St. Mary’s CBS in Belfast.

Speaking at yesterday’s awards ceremony, Ulster Colleges chairman Seamus Meehan said: “This is the 25th All-Star football team, and many of the previous teams have gone on to become household names.

“These players are tremendous role models for their schools and communities. They have shown tremendous skill and leadership in making this team and I have no doubt that they will continue to make a tremendous contribution to the GAA in years to come.”

Two Newry Colleges are represented on the team at Right-half back by Ryan Johnston (St Colman’s, Newry) Club: Kilcoo Owen Roe’s

Ryan captained St Colman’s to the BT Corn na nÓg and played in every match during the past two years as the school completed back-to-back MacRory and Hogan titles. He has a host of underage titles with Kilcoo, completing a third successive minor championship run in September, and a Down senior league just last week. He has been a Down minor for the past two seasons.

Ryan has won 2 Ulster and All-Ireland cross-country championships and along side him at Centre-half back Ciaran McCartan( Abbey CBS)

Club: St Peter’s, Warrenpoint.  Ciaran is in his third season on Abbey’s MacRory Cup squad and was centre-half back on the Down minor team of 2011. He has an under 14 club championship runners-up medals and lost out on the past two Down minor championship finals as well.Ciaran is also a cross-country athlete coming 3rd in the Golden Cow Youth games and is a keen golfer.

Ulster Colleges All Stars: Cathail Arnold (St. Patrick’s, Downpatrick); Patrick McBride (St. Mary’s CBS), Tomas McCarron (Omagh CBS), Jason Murphy (Our Lady’s, Castleblayney); Ryan Johnston (St. Colman’s, Newry), Ciaran McCartan (Abbey CBS), Conor White (St. Patrick’s, Armagh); Ryan Dougan (St. Patrick’s, Maghera), Mel Boyce (St. Macartan’s, Monaghan); Terence O’Brien (St. Mary’s, Magherafelt), Dermot McAleese (St. Louis’, Ballymena), Barry Coyle (St. Patrick’s, Keady); Kevin Quinn (St. Mary’s CBS), Anthony O’Neill (ST Pius X), Stefan Lavery (St. Patrick’s, Dungannon).