Killeavy Minors Make it 5 County Titles in One Year!!

October 16, 2012

With a big victory on Sunday, Killeavy minors have added to a bulging All County trophy cabinet this season, which also contains Og Sport, u16, ladies intermediate and mens intermediate championship trophies!

Killeavy 1-9 Grange 0-8

Despite mid-October, it was a sparkling day in Armagh Athletic Grounds, as Killeavy faced Grange in the minor county final on Sunday afternoon. The weight of expectation on this particular group of Killeavy players has been huge for several years now, expected to sweep all in front of them each day out, and with all the other teams in Killeavy winning this year, today really was D-day.

Ultimately the team stepped up to the mark, and produced a gutsy display against a very talented and well drilled Grange team to live up to their billing and take another county title home to Killeavy in 2012. The first half could really be divided into three ten minute zones.  The first 10 was quite even, Killeavy’s forward line winning plenty of ball through the likes of Niall Hollywood, Kealan O’Hare and Ciaron O’Hanlon. Grange also served notice of their skills – two towering points from play as well as a good free from superb midfielder Ethan Rafferty. Killeavy’s scores came from Kealan O’Hare and Niall Hollywood, Hollywood also going close with a good goal chance.

The second 10 saw Grange midfield take over the show, dominating kick-outs and pinning Killeavy in their own half. Some very poor wides from Grange – 5 in this period and a great Cathal Fearon save kept Killeavy in touch at 4-2 down in this rocky period.

The final 10 mins of the half saw Michael Murphy at last get to grips with Ethan Rafferty, and indeed he also played some great foot passes to the Killeavy forward line.

Killeavy showed greater scoring threat than Grange, Ciaron O’Hnalon adding two points, with Michael Boyle, Thomas Hannaway and Kealan O’Hare also adding points to give Killeavy a three point lead. Grange had the final say of the half with a free to show that they would still be ready to put on a big fight in the second half.

HT : Killeavy 0-7 Grnage 0-5

Grange scored a point straight from the throw-in. Killeavy’s first score of the half was the crucial goal. A long free in from O’Hanlon dropped in shorrt to the edge of the square. The smallest man on the pitch, Michael Boyle rose for it, made a super catch, and swivelled to fire into the roof of the met.

This quickfire start to the half then turned into a scoring stalemate. Killeavy’s defence was superb – every player really excellent. Another great save from Fearon, some wonderful play from the less heralded Mark McGennity, as well as a captains show from Donal O’Neill maent Grange found scorring chances rare.

However, at the other end, Killeavy failed to trouble the scorers. The deployment of Michael Boyle round centrefield saw Killeavy win a lot of ball, but ultimately no scoring chances were converted. They hit the post three times, one a Thomas Hannaway shot for a goal,  and like the other rounds, they went into the last ten knowing a Grange goal would take the cup away from Killeavy.

Ultimately, a Kealan O’Hare point after Sean Mooney had a shot well saved, and a Ciaron free after a good catch from Niall Hannaway were enough to ease Killeavy over the line by four points. A marvellous achievement for players and management team, who have taken home the minor title in a memorable year for the club.

In terms of All-County titles, that’s Ladies Intermediate, Men’s Intermediate, U16, Og Sport and minor titles for the club. Dreamland really!

Congrats to this squad once again, and thanks to our kind sponsor Doran Contracts. Ulster awaits, and hopefully Killeavy will be fit to challenge for that title as well.

Killeavy Team:cathal fearon, paddy byrne, donal oneill, Mark McGennity, kyle mallon, jamie cosgrove, niall king, mick murphy, eoin mcparland, Caolan McConville,  ciaran ohanlon(0-3),niall Hollywood(0-1),  Thomas hannaway(0-1, 1F), kealan ohare(0-3, 1f), mickey boyle(1-0).

Subs: Sean Mooney for Eoin McParland (40min), Niall Hannaway for Sean Mooney.