Newspaper for Crossmaglen, South Armagh, Newry and Down.

Kilcoo romped to a fifth successive O’Hare Cup

SFC Final – Kilcoo 3-11 v Clonduff 0-9

Kilcoo romped to a fifth successive O’Hare Cup on Sunday with a comprehensive eleven- point victory over local rivals Clonduff at a packed Pairc Esler.

Yellows held their own for the first quarter hour, Marty Devlin and Barry O’Hagan exchanging opening points before the champions moved up a gear and posted an unanswered 2-7 before the break. Kilcoo were already stretching ahead at 0-4 to 0-1 when Aaron Morgan beat Jason Brown to Conor Laverty’s side line punt and flicked the ball to the net and only moments later Daryl Brannigan turned onto a low Ceilum Doherty cross and swivelled a ground shot wide of Brown for a second Kilcoo goal and it was as good as game over.

Clonduff tried their hardest but Kilcoo comfortably contained their threat and but for a Jason Brown intercept Aaron Morgan could have been in for his second goal.

On the restart Niall Kane denied Packie O’Hagan a goal when he saved with his foot and Stephen McConville added a couple of frees. Kilcoo remained dangerous on the break and Ceilum Doherty swept home their third goal past a hesitant Clonduff defence in the fortieth minute to make it 3-10 to 0-5. Clonduff had more chances as the half progressed and Barry O’Hagan pointed twice from play and Stephen McConville doubled his tally from frees before having a shot cleared off the line by Darragh O’Hanlon.

Kilcoo were reduced to fourteen men when Eugene Brannigan was red carded and late on Clonduff came close to a consolation goal when Barry O’Hagan flashed a shot off the crossbar.

Kilcoo: Niall Kane, Niall McEvoy, Darragh O’Hanlon 0-1 (f), Niall Branagan, Daryl Brannigan 1-0, Aidan Branagan, Aaron Branagan, James McClean 0-1, Felim McGreevy, Ryan Johnston 0-1, Aaron Morgan 1-0, Ceilum Doherty 1-0, Conor Laverty 0-1, Paul Devlin 0-2 (1f), Martin Devlin 0-4.

Subs: Eugene Brannigan, Jerome Johnston, Gary McEvoy, JJ McLoughlin 0-1, Sean O’Hanlon, Gerard McEvoy.

Clonduff: Jason Brown, Darren O’Hagan, Shane O’Hagan, Ruairi Lively, Brendan Britton, Rory Grant, Paul Lively, Aidan Carr, Niall Tumilty, Kieran Trainor, Stephen McConville 0-4 (4f), Packie O’Hagan 0-1, Conor Og O’Hagan, Rian Branagan, Barry O’Hagan 0-4.

Subs: Finbarr McConville, Charlie Carr, Shane Ward.

The Down Senior champions play the Monaghan champions (Clontibret or Scotstown) at 3.30pm on 16th October in Clones.