Newspaper for Crossmaglen, South Armagh, Newry and Down.

Triple Tussell with Cavan

Bank of Ireland Dr. McKenna cup 2016 Draw

Armagh and Cavan will know plenty about each other by the time 2016 is over. The sides will meet in three different competitions in 2016 starting with their Bank of Ireland Dr McKenna Cup Section C clash in early January. The teams will also meet in the National Football League on Sat March 5 at Kingspan Breffni Park and they play in the Ulster Championship quarter-final also at the Cavan venue.

The draw for the 2016 Bank of Ireland Dr McKenna Cup took place at the Fitzwilliam Hotel, Belfast and was conducted by Ulster GAA President Martin McAviney and Terry McCrudden on behalf of competition sponsors Bank of Ireland.  In a first for Ulster GAA, the entire event was streamed live via Linwoods Armagh TV.

The draw was as follows, with the fixtures for the 2016 Bank of Ireland Dr. McKenna Cup sections to be drafted at the next meeting of Ulster CCC on Tuesday 8th December.

Section A: Queen’s, Derry, Tyrone, Antrim

Section B: St Mary’s, Donegal, Fermanagh, Down

Section C: Ulster University, Cavan, Armagh, Monaghan

Semi Finals:

Section B Winner v Section A Winner

Best Runner-Up v Section C Winner

Bank of Ireland Dr. McKenna Cup Competition Tickets

Ulster GAA is once again selling a limited number of competition tickets for the 2016 Bank of Ireland Dr McKenna Cup.

This will permit you access to Round 1, Round 2 and Round 3 games involving your team, both semi- finals and the final for just £20/€25… that’s a potential saving of over 60%!

For more information, or to purchase your competition tickets now, visit


The competition named after the late Cardinal Tomas O’Fiaich returns following a year’s absence and both semi-finals and final will be played in St. Oliver Plunkett Park, Crossmaglen with a 1-30pm throw-in and extra-time if necessary in all games

The tournament is played between the 4 counties: Armagh, Louth, Tyrone and Derry which are within the archdiocese of Armagh. Current holders Derry will begin the defense of their title against their 2016 Ulster Championship and upcoming Dr. McKenna Cup as well as National League Division Two opponents Tyrone on Sunday Dec 13. Near neighbors Armagh and Louth will commence the competition this Saturday Dec 12. The final will take place on Sat Dec 19.


Saturday 12 December @1.30pm

Armagh v Louth

Referee: Martin McNally (Monaghan)

(ET if necessary)

Sunday 13 December @ 1.30pm

Tyrone v Derry

Referee: Padraig Hughes (Armagh)

(ET if necessary)


Saturday 19 December @ 1.30pm

Armagh or Louth v Tyrone or Derry

(ET if necessary).